Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been told that Chat Thai is only one of a few restaurants in Sydney that comes close to capturing the same Thai food flavors as Thailand. I’ve become quite obsessed with Thai food, so of course I had to see what everyone was saying but i was a bit hesitant because who names a Thai restaurant “Chat Thai”?

There are many Chat Thai stores around Sydney, but we ended up going to Randwick as it was the closest one. We arrived at around 8pm on a Friday night and got a table straight away. It’s a small restaurant and it was packed so I was glad we were able to get a table as soon as we walked in.

The waitress handed us the menus which is a hard cover book. I’ve never seen a menu presented in that way, so I was pretty impressed.

My boyfriend and I order the three main dishes that we always get when having Thai. At Chat Thai we ordered:

  • Gai Satay ($3 each) -¬†Skewered and char grilled chicken fillets with peanut sauce with a sweet chilli and cucumber salsa dip.
  • Chicken with cashew nuts (13.90) – Stir fried chicken with cashew nuts and smoked chilli jam (Boyfriend’s order)
  • Padt si-ew ($10.90) – Stir fried wide rice noodles with chicken, egg and Chinese kale in dark soy sauce. (My order)

First dish was the Gai Satay.

IMG_2462

Now this is what satay sticks should taste like! The char grilled taste of the chicken was so perfect and the crunch from the peanuts in the sauce was perfect. I hate when you get given satay sauce and its just liquid based. This was thick, tender, crunchy and full of great bursting flavor.

IMG_2465

 

The Chicken Cashew nut had a different flavor to what my boyfriend is used too. The chicken didn’t have the smoky flavor that he has had at previous Thai restaurants. I had a taste and it was sweet and tender. He seemed to really enjoy it.

IMG_2466

Now to my dish, Padt Si-Ew

I have only started ordering this dish within the past few months, before i always used to get a curry of some sort.

This padt si-ew was delicious. It was full of flavor and satisfied my cravings for this dish. I do have to say that the noodles were quite oily but I am happy to overlook that as it was perfect. The chicken was tender and had a yummy char grilled taste. It had the right amount of soy sauce and I love the hints of fried egg throughout the dish.

e2252e38e9af11e2939222000a9f1385_7

 

The water cups are so cute too.

Location - In a small street in Randwick, not a place I would have expected a Thai restaurant to be. Easy access.

Price - Fairly cheap prices for great Thai food. Always a +

Service – I wouldn’t say it was the best service we have had, but they were polite and we got the right dishes and they came to the table quickly. That’s all you need

Atmosphere – It’s a small restaurant and only seats around 45 people. It’s a bit tight. I love the open kitchen, even though it seems every restaurant has one now, but it’s always exciting to see your food fresh and cook in front of you.

Food – Great Thai food. Couldn’t ask for anything better.

I would love to come back to Chat Thai. It’s not so chat afterall

Chat Thai Randwick on Urbanspoon

